SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
palimpsest

Remembering, Forgetting, Reminding

palimpsest
11 years ago

This post stems from a specific incident but I know several people like this.

I have a friend whose birthday I can never quite remember on time because it is between two Saint's days, and I associate it with the Saint's day that is Second in the sequence. So I generally remember, but a couple of days late.

So, I say, usually every year "oh Happy Birthday, the other day" or something like that.

The last couple of years in particular I usually get a text or email that says "Hey Thanks for Missing My Birthday AGAIN, as usual" at the end of the day, almost as if to Pre-empt the fact that I usually say it a couple days late, and she doesn't want me to have the opportunity.

I am NOT good at remembering non-family-members' birthdays, but to be quite honest I have completely forgotten some of my own personal milestone days until after the fact. She Does remember my birthday, but it happens to be on a widely celebrated Holiday and there is also an attendant story to my birth that makes it memorable. Tell the story once and almost anybody remembers it.

This friend is also one of those who will say something like "Look at this great XYZ, it would be a great present for my Birthday, (for Christmas), (for giving you Rides home from work) Wink Wink Just Kidding (but not really).

Mind you I haven't particularly ignored this friend. I designed what was a near gut rehab of an entire floor of her house and provided documents that would suffice for permits and oversaw her contractor and didn't charge her a penny.

So anyway today I missed it again, although I did remember that is was between yesterday and the weekend, and I got the snarky text about forgetting.

So instead of the penitent "I know I am such a bad person to always forget,"