SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
dearjimmy65

Diagnosing my Mothers AC problem?

dearjimmy65
14 years ago

I'm a newbie here so Hello! I'm trying to diagnose a problem with my moms condenser. When my mom turned on her AC for the first time this season she knew enough to listen for the outside unit to turn on. When all she heard was a hum she turned it off. When I looked at it she turned the thermostat to AC and the hum was coming from the condenser motor area. If the compressor was locked up would the fan run? How about if the fan was locked up the compressor should still run? She turned it off. When off I tried to spin the fan blade and it seemed like corrosion was making it tight. As I undid the motor wires I got a slight jolt from a motor wire. Should there still have been power even when the thermostat was in the off position? Maybe that was left over power from the capacitor? It's a 25 year old Trane 2 ton unit with a GE 1/8 HP, 230V, 1550 RPM motor. There wasn't a seperate capacitor on the outside of the motor so I'm assuming it's either before where I unhooked the wire nuts or inside the motor.