SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
purpleinopp

Why are quilts so dynamic while cross-stitch remains boring?

I've been cross-stitching for about 35 years and am so sick of mushrooms, santas, pastel in general, kitties, samplers, and all that kind of overly sweet, flowers, cutesy, 70's stuff. The selection of patterns available has almost become static. It's a real pain to draw my own cross-stitch patterns before stitching, but that is about all I have done for many years. It started with changing the colors and evolved into entire new designs on graph paper, then on excel spreadsheets the last 10 years or so.

Lately I've turned to my Mom's quilting books for inspiration and am in AWE of all of the vivid colors, new ideas, and abstract artwork available in this genre. Since both mediums are based on geometry, it seems odd that the more difficult, expensive, and space-consuming activity has taken center stage for being eye-catching, modern, and just more visually interesting.