SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
cloudyskies_gw

complete newbie here--choosing between 3 houseplans

cloudyskies
10 years ago

We put our home up for sale never imagining it would sell in just 2 days! There's nothing on the market suitable for us to buy but we did find 12 acres that had everything we were looking for (high speed cable internet, no restrictions on horses & 4wheelers, barn)...except a house!

So we made a spur of the moment decision to build! We've never done this before and are clueless. At first we were going to go with Schumacher Homes but then a highly recommended builder had a client change their minds so he's available now to start building for us next month. Now we just need to decide on a plan and I would love some input on our current top 3...and just input in general :)

I homeschool our 4 kids, ages 7-14. Hubby works from home. Kids play violin and piano. We are outdoorsy, into gardening and horses and 4H market animals. I love pretty wooden staircases, porches, fireplaces and farmhouses (simple midwest-style, not cape cods or busy-looking victorians). I like lots of natural light and the ability to open windows & let breeze come through. My parents live out of state and visit a lot so our main level needs to be wheelchair friendly to make things accessible for my dad.

Must haves:
-4 bedrooms or 3 bedrooms + office
-would prefer to stay under 2000sf plus a finished basement (our lot will support doing a walkout but we're not sure we want to--there's plenty of flat area to build on as well)
-200k max budget that includes a detached 2-car garage (we're able to get major discounts on windows/ext doors, trim, cabinets, and metal roofing through family connections)
-Simple farmhouse style that suits our rural OH location

Possibility #1 "Family Jewel" from Archway Press http://www.archwaypress.com/house-plan-hyg-1764.html