SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
parupudi_gw

Help - New to Gardening in Katy, TX.

parupudi
17 years ago

Hi,

I live in Katy, TX to be specific. I am new to gardening and tried to find the USDA ZONE for Houston, TX. Some websites show it as Zone 9a and some show it as Zone 8. Can anyone tell me which is correct?

Also, I have had a landscaper do my flower beds in the front and back of the house. I have the following plants and would like to get all the information on how to grow, care, prune, fertilize my flowers and plants since i am planning to do it all by myself. I selected mostly PERENNIAL's as i wanted something to be all year around and easy maintenance.

1. PINK MYRTLES

2. AZALEA's - Pink-Small rounded ones, White with large flowers, right now both of them are blooming like hell and my flowerbed looks wonderful

3. HIBISCUS - I don't know which one's i have either a Tropical or Hardy, One was Orange and the other was red, the gradener pruned them all the way down and with the frost we had in Houston for this winter now they are dormant. I don't see any life in them as all the stems are just brown but didn't give my hopes up - Should I

4. MUMS - They did well last year till winter. Got dried up but i pruned them removing all the brown, dry stems. Now i see all the bushes are back to life with green leaves flourishing. When will they start blooming?

5. FOXTAIL FERN - They were really good till last winter. But now most of them seem to dry and become brown leaving only one or two branches green. Do these need direct sunlight? I noticed that my FOXTAIL FERN's which are on the flower bed which doesn't get direct sunlight are still green and lushy. But the ones little bit further down in the lawn around a big tree get more sunlight and they seemed to be dying.

6. OLEANDER - I have the Pink ones which are still good. But i am not sure how they survived the winter last year. What care can i take for these?