SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
vermicomposterchild

Newbie Question: How much food, how often?

Hello, I'm a total newbie on this forum (just registered today) and I've been the proud caretaker of worms for seven whole days now. (Cue "Happy Earthday")

I was really excited to get a worm bin started...I mean REALLY EXCITED. So I got on freecycle to see if I could find someone locally who would give me a starter set. After I had waited on pins and needles for a whole six hours for a response to my post...I couldn't stand it anymore and ordered two pounds from a farm in Yelm, Washington...the closest farm I could find to my home state. Then, of course, an hour later, freecycle came through with a cottage cheese container full of starter worms free for the taking the following morning.

The woman said they were "red wigglers" but couldn't confirm that they were "eisenia foetida" because she didn't know the latin name...so I got all spooked about a rogue worm species...so I decided I'd better keep them separate and suddenly found myself with two bins. I filled the first bin with wet, wrung-out strips of newsprint that I fluffed up, plus dried brown leaves from our filbert tree that I crunched up with my hands, soaked in water, and then wrung out as best I could. I also dumped in a handful or two of some hot pink camelia petals that were falling all over the ground, because I thought it might gussy up the bin a bit. The second bin is just newspaper (stripped, soaked, wrung out) - the worms arrived while I was on my way back from the store with their bin, and it was raining, so they just got newspapers.