SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
angela_t

Ahhh! Tomato seedling dying?! :( Newbie in need!

angela.t
12 years ago

I'm so worried! Okay, so this is my first year gardening. My seedlings have been doing pretty good so far, though they are leggy(lesson about heat learned ;) ). I look them over every night, and have just started to see some problems!

Alright, the first, I'm super worried about. I remember reading in on here somewhere, but don't you know, once you NEED the answer you read before you can't find it? One of my seedlings has become super thin and yellow at the base of its stem. Like, about 1/2 as wide as it used to be. It also has those root bumps I've read about on here. This plant also has the crisp, browning edges, majorly on two of the four real leaves, starting on the third. It seems to start at the edges, and work its way inward, and up from the tip. The best pictures I can find that mimic what I'm seeing is bacterial canker! But maybe if with the stem thing, it might not be? Hopefully not because by what I read this dumb virus can spread to the rest of them and there's no cure? Is that right? How 'bout a preventative?

Another seedling or two is having the same symptom, where the edges of the leaves start to brown, but not the stem issue. Also, there are some tomato seedlings which have crispy feeling leaf tips, although they look healthy and green, so I dunno if that's the start of the problems with the others or something else...

Also, lastly, there's some of my plants, all THREE of the Opalka plants, that have medium sized mature leaves that cup together long ways and curl upside down, so they're laying belly up. I read on here about someone else worrying about Opalka's being wilty, so I know they can be a bit different, but it even is on another one or two tomato varieties. Otherwise the plant seems healthy. Any ideas?