SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kawaiineko_gardener

how do you stake tomatoes?

I know this probably sounds like a dumb question, but I'm new with gardening and I don't have experience growing tomatoes (from seed or from transplants).

How do you stake a tomato? Please be descriptive and precise, but please be simple with what you say so I don't understand what you're talking about.

Thank you in advance for anybody who gives clarification regarding this.

Comments (19)

• windclimber
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

When I first started growing tomatoes I thought the only way was to put a stake in the ground and tie the plant to it as it grows.

IMO this has got to be the worst way, but if that is all you have........

Some of the best growers I know just let them sprawl on the ground. As this is the natural way for them to grow it is probably the best, but you have to have room and be concerned with ground contact (diseases)and other issues.

Back to staking.......

Remember the plant will be tall and heavy with fruit and wet foilage, swayed about by strong wind and pelted with rain.
    If I were you I would erect something for the tomato plant to trellis on. Some use concrete rienforcement mesh, rolled into a cage and set on end. This is usually easy to find.
    Any kind of cage or structure made of whatever you can obtain will work, so that as the plant gets about a foot tall it can start to be trained onto it. The leaves and branches can be tied to it but after a while if the spaces of the trellis are close together it will support itself.

I use panels of galvanized livestock fencing w/ 6" square holes, and use zipties to connect them into different arches and trellises.

Of course you can search in the FAQ up top.

Tom

• hardclay7a
    14 years ago