SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ladyofengland

flowering bushes care

Jennifer Cotter
16 years ago

I'm a newbie to gardening and love this site. I can see I shall be a regular here. We moved here two years ago in May. Garden was landscaped with gorgeous flowering bushes. First year they bloomed beautifully. Last year I did not know why everyone were putting sheets over their bushes this time of year. Silly me ! They hardly bloomed at all last year. This is a pic of them today. What can I or rather should I do to them. One seems as if the stems are half dead, or maybe they will liven up. Should I cut them out? Do I need to feed them. What kind of bushes are they?

Thanks for any advice?[IMG]http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c153/ladyofengland/MVC-008F-16.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c153/ladyofengland/MVC-009F-16.jpg[/IMG]

Comments (7)

• Amazindirt (7a TN)
    16 years ago

Those are azaleas. Most likely they were damaged by the hard freeze and subsequent drought last year. Azalea form buds for next year's bloom right after the current year's blossoms fade, so all those stressors last year killed off many of the buds for this spring.

Cut out the dead parts only. Then give them some azalea or other "acid-loving" fertilizer (different than "regular" fertilizer, because azaleas love acid conditions) and don't let them dry out too much this coming year, and they ought to start recovering.

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    16 years ago

If you do fertilize, go light! Most of the experts are saying not to fertilize until the plants are no longer stressed (which it appears that your's still are).

• Jennifer Cotter
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you so much Brandon and amazindirt. I appreciate your help so much.

• Amazindirt (7a TN)
    16 years ago

It was *last* year that she shouldn't have fertilized -- and she didn't. *This* year she ought to be getting those plants back in the swing of things. IMHO.

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    16 years ago