SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
dirt_tracker

Let's try it one more time...

Well, I've been lurking for a while and figured I'd introduce myself. I've basically read the entire square foot gardening forum along with the soil/compost forum. Lot's of great information here!!! Thanks!

Hmm, so where do I start? I guess I just jump in, eh? Warning, though, this might be long! :)

Back in '99 as a newbie I had started a 75'x25' organic garden. I had read some and decided to go with wide-bed planting. I cleaned out one guys old cow shed for him, drove 75 miles one-way for a pick-up load of worm compost (talk about a HEAVY load), gathered the "road apples" from the horses a friend kept across the road, rounded up old peanut hay for mulching and composting (not a good idea for mulch...weeds!), etc, etc.,. I started a steaming compost pile and by mid-July I had a fair garden going for a newbie. Corn was growing, tomatoes producing, butterbeans,

radishes, cucumbers, etc.,.

It was looking good. Sadly, my father became ill and after a 40 day vigil at the hospital with him (I thank the Lord that He made it where I could be with him) my father died. By the time I got around to really checking the garden out it was late August and the garden had succumbed to pigweed(peanut hay), bitterweed, and others along with being a dust bowl after the drought we had that summer. Really sad condition. Everything that happened that summer took a lot out of my heart, and subsequent events only added more damage...lost my brother in '01 (the three of us ran my father's business). I eventually leveled the beds back out and turned it back into grass. It seemed like suddenly there wasn't time for a whole lot of things in my life.

Well, I happened to pick up one of my old gardening books the other day and started reading some. Then I thought about the old copy of Mel's book that I had some stuck somewhere. Found it and started reading.