SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jeffcat_gw

Columbus Park of Roses Pt.1

jeffcat
14 years ago

I actually have a camera for once in my life, so I decided to try it out at Columbus Park of Roses. The park doesn't go into full bloom until the 1st or 2nd week of June usually, but I figured I'd contribute anyways. I'm a total amateur at picture taking, but I was surprised at how well my little 12megapixel digital camera did. I shot most of the pics in a landscape picture which would explain the out of focus shots, but the color quality and detail was way above my expectations after I uploaded the pics. I had to enhance most of the photos with one click enhancements. A few are a little too green or yellow due to the intensely bright light passing through the leaves, but other than that, the shots came out better than I expected....but like I said...I'm a complete newbie. I only took a few pics, but I will go around and start a library of every rose in the park once they come into bloom this year and then take as many pics as possible of the park. The park is run mostly by volunteers which explains why it isn't exactly "pristine", but it is kind of nice in that respect because the park kind of let's the roses roam free so you can get a better idea of growth habits. This park used to be the park where the ARS did it's rose testing when the ARS's headquarters was in Columbus, OH.

Entrance...Park of Roses is on other side of shelter house.

The slight uphill walk to the main stretch.

Looking through the wooden arbor onto the stretch.

The front of the main stretch right in front of the wood arbor.

Looking back at the front arbor walkway.

As you can tell, the volunteers cut 95% of the roses down to the ground every winter, which is why they don't bloom until the beginning of June. Here they are beginning their new year with basal sprouts.

Not a lot in terms of minis, but here is a small mini-bed.

There are smaller beds off of the main strip. Here is a small one.