SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
greenhouse_girl

Clueless about a future in Horticulture

greenhouse_girl
11 years ago

Hi everyone! I have been frequenting this forum for a while and have seen many posts like this, but was hoping to get some individual advice.

I graduated from college last year with degrees in political science and business, of which I have little interest. During my time in college I spent my springs and summers working at a local nursery and since graduating I have been working with ornamentals in a greenhouse. I also write and edit articles for two online gardening magazines. So, I have about 5 years industry experience. My local college, University of Maryland, offers a 2 year degree in Ornamental Horticulture, and I am extremely interested in attending. My dream job would be to one day curate a botanical garden or open my own organic nursery. However, my parents are very concerned about my interest in this career path. Initially, they pushed me into the undergraduate degree and I wanted to comply with their wishes since they were the ones paying. Now, they are encouraging me to go for a graduate degree in law or business because my future would be "secure". I believe I would be a good lawyer or businesswoman, but have little interest in those fields and much less interest in going to school for 4+ years more. Man, do those classes sound dull.