SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
gllc21

OMG- what am I doing starting a retail nursery??

gllc21
16 years ago

Ok, I am a newbie here and apparently not to good b/c I posted early this AM and came to check to see if anyone had answered me and my post did not show up....maybe that is a hint it was too long so this time I will try to make it shorter and just give you the facts. My DH has a very successful landscape business and is wanting me to open a retail nursery since our baby went to school. He already has his nursery license b/c we have about 5 acres of trees he has planted - we have 10 acres - and he keeps the shrubs here for his customers to pick their materials out. We just obtained some greenhouses and cold frames from someone who sold their land for development and basically gave them away for someone to come take them. My concern is not with the shrubs and the trees b/c even if I do not sale them through the retail part he uses them for his business. My concern is the perennials, annuals and vegetables. Where do those of you with experience go to find out if the supplier is reputable? Do most of you use a broker and how do you know if they are reputable?