SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
dkgarber

weeds or wildflowers

dkgarber
17 years ago

When walking through my lawn the other day, I became frustrated at the amounts of flowering "weeds" that have grown in. We bought the house w/a sick lawn and have almost rid ourselves of the grubs and plan to reseed i nthe fall, at which time hopefully the grass will grow nice strong roots and choke out the other species growing here.

Sorry if this is a dumb question (I am new at this) but isn't a flowering weed a native wildflower? I am tempted to root them up and plant in the back along some of my woods, to bring some color and some native vegetation. I know most ppl eradicate any unwelcome plants i nteir yard but is this the right approach? Some of them are quite pretty and had I known nothing about where they came from, I could swear they were from a nursery...any suggestions?

Comments (11)

• vera_eastern_wa
    17 years ago

Tons of non-native weeds flower!!.
    Many were ornamentals, herbs, etc. in their native countries which have gone hogwild here for lack of natural enemies, etc.
    A few flowering non-native weeds would include:
    Dames Rocket (Very pretty plant has become quite the invasive in some states including WA but not yet named a noxious weed anywhere except CO, CT and MA)
    Baby's Breath (both annual and perennial species...the perennial species is a WA noxious weed)
    Native and non-native Forget-me-Nots
    Wild 4 O'clocks (a noxious weed in WA state...where else I don't know)
    Purple Loosestrife (Escaped non-native ornamental listed as noxious weed almost everywhere)
    Bachelor's Button (monitored now in eastern WA as a candidate as a noxious weed...is now named as such in Colorado)
    Dandelion
    Salsify
    Blueweed
    Common Bugloss( very showy blue flowers and a noxious weed here in WA and elsewhere not sure)
    Orange Hawkweed (very showy non-native and listed as a noxious weed in many western states)

The list goes on and on...