SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
owiebrain

Okay, so what to do about the moles?

owiebrain
13 years ago

Assuming moles is what I have, what are my options? (I've taken photos of the evidence, just need to get them blogged up.)

Ilene mentioned milky spore to me but I've not yet googled it to know what it is. I've seen hardware cloth mentioned with which to line the bottom of a raised bed but that would eventually rust away. Hubby wondered about pouring concrete "walls" for the raised beds and having them go below ground but we'd need to know how far is enough to keep them from detouring under.

I'm completely new to moles so am open to it all!

Diane

Comments (25)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    13 years ago

Diane,

I've linked Milky Spore info for you. The Milky Spore disease attacks and kills the grubs, and it is actually the grubs that lawn rodents are often after. I could tell a big difference in our yard the year AFTER we used Milky Spore....meaning that I put the Milky Spore on the lawn in either July or August of one year and then saw the results (less digging in the yard) the following summer. You have to apply the Milky Spore at the right time in order for it to work, and my mole/vole/gopher problem was relatively minor, because the cats killed every one of those animals they could find. However, transient armadilloes and skunks would come in and dig up every inch of yard and garden looking for grubs before I used the Milky Spore. They dug up my entire garden----every single plant---on the night before Mother's Day the year I applied milky spore (in fact, that's why I applied milky spore), an incident we still refer to as the Mother's Day Massacre.

Keep in mind too that while moles eat grub worms, they also eat other soil-dwelling creatures, including earthworms, so eliminating the grubs is only part of the solution. However, as a bonus, killing the grubs will help reduce your Japanese Beetle population.