SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
plant_newbie_2010

First-timer's troubles and 'accomplishments'

plant_newbie_2010
12 years ago

Hi, so I thought I'd share the problems I've run into so far(besides bhut germination problems I have)!=) This year is my first year attempting to grow peppers from seeds(actually tomatoes too, but it's the hot pepper forum!=P)! I'll try to post pictures(bad phone quality... sorry!=/), so hope they turn out ok!=)

My situation: So I'm just a student who lives in my parents house, and all I have to myself is my very crammed and messy room, so that's where my seedlings live! But luckily I have a south-facing window! When it gets warmer, my mom allows me to put a few containers on our little LITTLE deck, and although we have a small garden, she won't allow me to plant anything in the flower beds... So, you guessed it! I container garden only!=) (unless they are tulips, irises, etc...) Heating mats are too expensive to buy and run for me, and same goes for cfl's. Plus my family would be worried about me burning the house down from leaving those on, so all I can rely on is the weather, my window, and the top of the water heater unit for seed germination!=)

So basically, the night of March 19, I started these seeds in paper towel:

-3 white habs

-4 explosive embers

-4 sweet pickles

-3 bhuts(that I won't talk about here)