SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
greenmanok

some experience to share, for what it's worth

greenmanOK (Zone7)
13 years ago

Hi everyone. I've been gardening and a member of this forum here for about 3 years and have benefited tremendously from all the posts and advice that all you nice folks are kind enough to share. So I'd like to share some of the things I've learned with my plants the past few years - hopefully someone might find it useful. I'm also open to any advice on any of this...

I live in a newer development in the OKC area so I have clay soil and lots of sun and very few tall trees in the neighborhood, so shade comes from my house and fence. I am starting to get into composting, but the past couple years I've basically amended my soil with the mushroom compost that Lowes carries.

On the east side of the house I grow a variety of hostas, japanese ferns, some irish moss, and a variety of mondo grass in between it all and for some winter colour. I like the monochromatic green look and variation in the texture of the foliage. However, this particular area, while only getting around 3 hours of sun per day, gets it from about 1030 or 11 am to about 1 or 1:30 pm - when the sun is at its highest - so by late July, things are getting quite toasted. I prop some lattice up over it, but once the hostas start sending up spires(around late July) I have to move it and the foliage then gets pretty fried. The hosta blooms, however, are spectacular huge white blooms, even though I wanted them for the foliage. I counted 15 spires on one plant, and their showiness almost outdoes that of my lilies. Anyway, I am convinced that this area could support plants intended for full sun, as I have a spiderwort flourishing a mere few feet from the hostas, and a few feet further away (albeit a spot that gets a bit more sun), I have started a lily bed.