SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
peachymomma_gw

Getting ready to plant next weekend need advice.

peachymomma
17 years ago

I am hoping that someone (dawn LOL) will tell me how to prepare my soil for my tomatoes. I am replanting next weekend or during the week after.

I would really like to have a bumper crop of tomatoes.

Usually I just plant my tomatoes and fertalized with miricle grow.

What should I do to have tall productive tomatoes?

Also any tomatoe brand suggestions will e appreciated.

So far I am going with Brandywine, betterboys, Amish paste tomatoes, and some cherry tomatoes for the kids to enjoy.

Thanks in advance :D

Carla

Comments (24)

• merryheart
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Carla
    I am not an expert gardener or anything like close to growing as many tomatoes as Dawn but I have always had pretty good success with tomatoes.

The first thing I do is break up my garden soil good so that the soil is nice and loose. Then I add a little compost and mix it into the soil.

I dig a small trench for my tomato plants and I plant them on their side with only the top few inches above ground.
    For example if the plant is about 12" tall I remove all the lower stems and leaves and when planted I leave only about the top 4 to 6 inches above ground. This works bettr with larger plants at least 12 inches tall.
    This lets them get a strong root system in a short amount of time.
    If you don't want to do the trench method or if you have smaller plants then you can just plant them deeper...taking off the lower leaves and plant them deep.

I mulch and cage mine real soon after planting. And if all goes well they just do really well.

You do need to watch for green horn worms which can take out a good sized tomato plant in a night.

Tomatoes like sun and good air circulation.

I also plant a few marigolds along with my tomatoes. It is supposed to help keep some of the pests off. I am not sure if it really helps but I do it from habit.