SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
molanic

Native Plant Sale Shopping List Help

molanic
13 years ago

This is my first time posting on the natives forum and I'm looking for some advice. We are near Chicago with good topsoil with clay probably 18-24" down. I have been adding more natives the past few years and am especially interested in species that attract birds and insects to our suburban lot.

I have already incorporated quite a few natives started from seed with wintersowing, plus the occasional plant purchase when I come across them. At the end of the month a nearby town is having a native plant sale with quite a nice selection. I'm hoping to purchase some shrubs and small tress that aren't really feasible to start from seed.

The trees and shrubs planted when this house was built were very poor choices in my opinion. We have a hedge of Japanese honeysuckle (bad I know) permanently married to a chain link fence under the power lines. There was also an enormous weeping willow 10 feet from the power lines. They weren't really thinking long term.

We have two massive 40-50 year old silver maples in our west facing small front yard. The dense thirsty roots fill the yard and they are very very messy trees. But their shade has meant very little need for air conditioning. Recent sewer and road construction has most likely severely damaged their roots and I predict they may have to come down within a few years. I would like to plant some smaller native trees that can grow under them, but also handle more sun and thrive when the maples eventually are removed. I was thinking of either a redbud, or pagoda dogwood?