SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kristin3_gw

seeds

Kristin3
18 years ago

I am new to this sort of thing I want to harvest seeds from my Lupine and many different plants, do I plant the seeds in a pot to get started or the ground? I know that this a simple? but I am new to the prenneial gardening This is reaaly the frist year with collecting seeds. Also when to harvest seeds. Thanks for your help

Comments (19)

• lazyweeder
    18 years ago

Seeds are ready to be collected when they are ripe. It's a good idea to dry them for a couple of extra weeks. You can store them in plastic baggies or coin envelopes in the fridge.

Depends on the seed on how to plant it. Lupine you could plant directly in the garden this fall for next spring.

Check the seed saving and winter sowing forums for more good info. There is also a seed exchange forum for swapping.

Dave
    lazyweeder

• Julie
    18 years ago

Hi there Kristin!
    I am sure you will enjoy the wonderful world of seed saving and collecting and swapping! A valuable resource I have used is the seed site http://www.theseedsite.co.uk/ - it identifies seeds- pods- and how to grow info plus alot more- also http://tomclothier.hort.net/index.html , Tom Clothiers has a great site on seeds and seedy info-
    Enjoy!
    Julie

• leftwood
    18 years ago

The BIG exception for drying seed are ephemeral plants - plants that come up in the spring, flower, produce seed and then go dormant during the hot summertime. Of course, this is only FYI, as these plants are long gone from view now, but ephemeral seed should not dry out and in general should be planted immediately after ripening.

Rick

• newgrdenrmn
    18 years ago