SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
fatlard

Sango Kaku (Japanese Maple) Location

fatlard
18 years ago

Hello everyone,

I am pretty new at this. I got a Sango Kaku 7 gallon plant from Sams Club for $30 dollars yesterday. I like to plant this by the corner of my house. How far should I plant this from my house? Does this grow up to 20 ft tall? Are the root systems invasive?

Thanks in advance

Comments (17)

• katrina1
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

If the tree is in a seven gallon pot, is it 5-7 feet tall?

I have seen reports that claims this tree grows fast up to reaching 6-7 feet tall. After that it grows slowly and matures at the height of up to 25 feet and a width of up to 20 feet. But I also have seen reported that, while the trunks and branches are still thin, they break easily. This is less of a problem as the trunks and branches get thicker. Such breakage would slow the spreading rate accordingly.

Planting the tree in acid soil enhances the leaf and bark coloring. The tree is reported to tolerate a range of soil types including sand and heavy clay. Once the roots are well established the tree is also reported to be drought tolerant.

All the above information applies to the Coral bark Japanes maple - Acer palmatum - Sango-kaku

There are lots of slower and shorter growing Japanese maple cultivars that I would say do not worry about root damage from them to house foundations. Not so with this cultivar.

Since the tree is reported to spread 20 feet, I would not want to plant it closer than 10 feet to my house. After all, maples in general are considered to have shallow growing roots. Even though this tree will most likely take a very long time to reach 25 feet tall and almost as wide, I still would not want to take a chance with planting the tree closer to the house foundation.