SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
michellek2

Problems with my grow lamp & seedlings

michellek2
19 years ago

Last year at a Science warehouse sale (I'm a Science teacher.), I bought 2 stands with grow bulbs already in them. The bulbs are Sylvania Gro-Lux wide Spectrum 40 watts. Because it was a warehouse sale, I didn't get any real information about how to set things up, etc.

I set them up in the corner of my living room on the floor and put seeds under them to get a jump start on things this year. Well, I started with cabbage, spinach, and tomatoes.

The spinach really only germinated and nothing else. The the Turger pressure isn't even right and they flop over. They have been under there for 4 weeks, and germinated within the first week. They are still seedlings and nothing more.

The cabbage germinated and put out one set of leaves and nothing more. They two are limp and even hanging over their little pots.

The tomatoes did better; although a little leggy, they have come up and put out 2 or 3 sets of leaves. BUT, one day on a warmer day, I took them out to get some "real" sun, (they looked pretty healthy) and the leaves turned almost white. It was like the "real sun" was bleaching them out.

I also transplanted some of these (tomatoes) into bigger pots and was dissapointed in the root structure wasn't as healthy as I wanted. Some of the transplants even had to have some of the leaves taken off so they could stand up after a day. Obviously, the plants didn't have the roots to survive the stress of the transplant, but I thought for sure as large as these guys were, they would be root bound soon. I did put some more kelp meal in the mix, but I don't really think that was the problem. It just seemed like too much plant for the root system.