SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
alamo5000

My setup for growing my seedlings (pics)

alamo5000
14 years ago

Here is a chronicle of how I am doing my tomato plants. I am a relative newbie to this, but last year I learned a lot. Hopefully this helps any other newbie out there.

Last year I used those little jiffy green houses with pete pellets in it. While they are great, I actually think they added extra work. This year I am skipping them outright.

Someone inevitably will ask why they added extra workÂso here goes. The pete pellets are great, but they are very small and your plant cannot grow beyond a certain size with them. You will find yourself transplanting from the pete pellet, later on to cups, and then later on to the ground or where ever you are growing. Also you must remove the netting around the roots from each and every pellet. Trust me, I found this out the hard way. In the end if you want to use those jiffy green houses go ahead, but this year I am skipping them.

Step 1. I used clear plastic cups so I can see the root growth and formation. I went straight into the 16oz ones. I got a small metal rod (kind of like a cut coat hanger) and heated it up on the stove. With the cups still stacked up I punched several holes through the bottom of the cups. It was much easier than trying to punch holes one at a time whereas I was able to do 10 at a time.

{{gwi:1299267}}

{{gwi:1299269}}

Step 2. Next I bought what I think is quality, name brand potting soil. Last year I tried not using the good stuff and it DOES NOT work. DonÂt even think about it. Go for the good stuff.

{{gwi:1299271}}

Step 3. Fill up the cups and place them in a container.

I bought some clear plastic boxes at Wal Mart for less than $4 each. Each one can snugly hold exactly 20 cups and once filled with soil the cups wonÂt turn over. I specifically bought clear plastic boxes. Opaque ones might be higher quality boxes but the clear will let light through.