SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
prairiemoon2

Never bought an iris...where is the best place to buy them?

Hi,

I am new to irises and someone gave me one last year and I really would like to get a few more. I haven't bought iris in the past because their bloom period is so short. Now that there are reblooming iris I am more interested and would like to purchase the best stock I can. I am in Massachusetts and if anyone can recommend where I could find quality iris either locally or by mail order, I would appreciate it.

BTW, is it a good idea to order this time of year by mail, since the temperatures are so high?

Thanks

:-)

pm2

Comments (23)

• wmoores
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Go to or phone your nearest botanic garden. They can place you in touch with a local club affiliated with the American Iris Society. Most clubs have a summer sale. The people working the sale can tell you the best varieties for your local area. They can also give you lots of advice on planting, etc.

Walter Moores

• laurief_gw
    16 years ago

You can find a list of your regional iris clubs and contact information at the link below. As Walter mentioned, iris clubs hold annual rhizome sales. That would be a great place for you to purchase irises that are already acclimated to your climate and known to grow well there.

Laurie

Here is a link that might be useful: Region 1 iris clubs

• Related Discussions

Best place to buy seeds online?

Q

Comments (55)