SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
amcloud

DWC Tomato Questions

13 years ago

I am new to hydroponics. I did a little research and decided to give it a try. I did quite a few things wrong, but so far my tomatoes have survived. This is an experiment and I hope to be more successful with my next attempt. I am learning by trial and error. I inspect the plants everyday and try to adjust my system based on plant response. I have a few questions.

-Roma tomatoes and determinate beefstake type in separate buckets

-DWC - 5 gallon buckets

-commercial airpump with large airstones (should be no lack of dissolved oxygen)

-4 bulb 32watt High Output T5 fixture for growth, will switch to 150watt HPS for bloom. These are small varieties of tomatoes.

-Pure Blend Pro Grow nutrients - Bloom for later stages - following manufacturer's recommendations.

-Expanded Clay growing medium

-PH 6.0 (is this correct)

-Change solution @ 2 weeks

I started the seedlings under CFL shop lights and switched to the T5 when they gained some size.

I was drowning the plants when I started...water level almost to the top of the mesh baskets. They spent about 2 weeks like this. I corrected the problem and they are now developing a large root mass and are growing very quickly. All of the new foliage looks good. I lost a little lower foliage from drowning them - Yellow leaves, Purple underneath. Water level is now 2 inches below the mesh pot, and new root growth has reached the nutrient solution.