SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
westy1941

Night Before Christmas - How To Pull Off Reversion?

Carole Westgaard
13 years ago

Second year and it's reverting to whatever it's parent is! I'm sick of this. Revolution drove me nuts so I gave in and let it do its thing. I've read to just 'pull off' the eye that is sending up the wrong color but does that mean digging the whole thing up or can I just scrape away some dirt and find the eye? This probably sounds really stupid since I've been growing these things for 20 years but I don't do the digging - my son does. Or can I just keep pulling the wrong leaves out?

Westy

Comments (8)

• freshair2townsquare
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Howdy ~

In my limited experience with hostae, I can't imagine a scenario in which you can separate an eye without lifting the plant.

The roots I've handled are *very* intermingled and require either a lot of massaging and hosing to loosen and detangle OR a slice with a solid, sharp knife through the least harmful and most spacious joint.

I separated 3+ solid green eyes from my 'Sea Thunder' just last night. It was fresh from the nursery, so all I had to do was pop it out of its pot. I was able to separate without cutting, but it took a full 20-30 minutes of constant hosing/soaking/massaging to do so. (broke two nails and sustained several bug bites - it took a bit of work) At several points, it was like trying to detangle multiple dainty necklaces.

You can see the separate root systems in the picture about 1/2way down the linked thread. All of that was completely intermingled.

You can easily "keep pulling the wrong leaves out", but the eye will still be there & you'll possibly do damage to the crown that might spread to your NBC.

I'm sure others will have more seasoned/informed advice.

~ freshair

Here is a link that might be useful: separating ST's solid green eyes

• caliloo
    13 years ago