SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
plantaddict_1

New here and to Hoya's

plantaddict_1
17 years ago

Hi, I am new to Hoyas and have a question(or two)... I ordered 3 Hoya from ebay from cowboyflowerman. I would like them to live sooo... I have read that they need sunlight to bloom, but what if you have one you just like the foliage and the bloom would be a bonus. What kind of light would it need. Does everyone grow their Hoya as hanging plants. My DH won't let me put any holes in the wall, so they will have to be either trained on a trellis or draped on a shelf. I currently have many, many AV's and Streps, some of which are in windows and most of which are on lighted stands. Would the flourescent lights be enough light for the Hoya to bloom?

Which Hoya are the absoulte easiest to grow indoor. The 3 I ordered are H. carnosa Picta (aka Exotica), H. Cummingiana and H.Carnosa Tricolor which I believe is also Krimson Queen? Did I make the right choices for a beginner?

I appreciate any help.

thank you, Sandi

Comments (11)

• gabro14
    17 years ago

Hi there and welcome. You'll be changing your name to "hoyaaddict" in no time! Cowboyflowerman has great plants. None of my hoyas are hanging plants. Most of them are left to have their vines hang, but I don't put them in hanging baskets. A few are on trellises...if you want them to climb up you should make a trellis out of a coat hanger or you can buy them. As for care, there's tons of info on here if you do a search. But here are the basics:

- They should be in a fast draining soil, not regular potting soil. There are a ton of opinions as to what mixtures are best, so do a search and decide for yourself. But the most important thing is that it's not in a soil that will stay moist. These plants don't like wet feet. Cowboyflowerman uses good soil, so there is no need to repot.
    - Let the soil completely dry out between waterings. Not all hoyas like this, but most do, especially the ones you have.