SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mrmorton_gw

A Touchy Subject? I hope not

mrmorton
16 years ago

I've been coming to the Cottage board for a few years now, and have noticed a lot of folks here are religious(or appear to be).

Now, I really don't want this to be a controversial topic. My curiosity has finally gotten the best of me, though, and I just had to ask.

Am I the only one around here that doesn't do the whole god/church/religion thing? I am actually the exact opposite, in that I am an Atheist(aka there is no god).

My garden is done by me manipulating nature. No help from "other" sources.

I understand if no one responds or wants to admit to thinking the same as me. Thats cool. It took me many years to get where I am.

I just sometimes feel like I'm the only one here rolling my eyes(sorry, can't help it) whenever someone mentions god, and the part he/she/it plays in the garden.

I guess the point is that we can all believe whatever we want as long as we remember that there are those who think differently, and to respect those beliefs(or lack thereof).

It occurred to me to create this topic after I found myself responding to the Ten Commandments of Gardening thread. I laughed at myself over that and started thinking a bit.

All that being said, I don't want anyone thinking that I have felt disrespected or unwelcome here. I love this place. This is simply me being curious.

Any takers?

Comments (41)

• solana
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

OK, I'll bite.

10 commandments thread, you chimed in while I was composing offline. I actually wrote a reply, then thought better of hijacking FlowerLady's thread. Still in my clipboard, here 'tis:

My take on religion is probably similar to Mrmorton's, though I do make the distinction between religious and spiritual. There are other ways to share bounty than veggies. Flowers for a shut-in, cuttings for a fellow gardener, advice for a newbie, a patient ear after a hail storm.