SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
legray_gw

safer, scale, a new meyer lemon, and cats.

legray
18 years ago

Hello, this is my first time posting here. I got a improved dwarf meyer lemon tree for my birthday this year. When I got it, it was already a little sickly, but improving (if you know what I mean). The lady at the shop told me that when she got it, it was so sick she thought it'd die. She hacked it back and it had been growing ever since. She didn't treat it with anything, and didn't tell me if it had pests or not. She did put it outside and water it occasionally.

Well, we had lots of sun this summer, so the thing (it's about a 3 year tree), literally has more blossoms than leaves. I took it home, put it on its special table, with its special lights, and proceeded to enjoy its recovery.

Each blossom opened, and my entire house smells gorgeous. However, I did notice that it did have pests from its summer outdoors. It had spider mites and scale. The spidermites seem to be under control, simply by me spraying the tree down in the shower, however I'm having a tougher time of the scale.

My problem is, I have two cats. They occasionally nibble on the lower branches (a habit I'm trying to break them of), and I don't want to put something on the tree that'll endanger them. I do have Safer Houseplant Insecticidal Soap, which I haven't used in almost a year on a plant which the cats didn't have access to. Now, I'm fairly sure that Safer isn't.. er, safe, while it's wet, but I've heard that it's OK when it's dry?

Are there any other solutions that'll kill off scale and leave a cat alive? Apart from hand picking the little beasties and squashing them in hand - an option which makes me squemish.