SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ilseschuhe

First time planting clematis. Not doing well. Need help.

ilseschuhe
15 years ago

This is my first year I have attempted to plant anything and so far things are not looking well. Last spring I started feeding birds and during the cold winter months, I decided I was going to plant 2 crabapple and 1 dogwood trees so the birds had something to munch on. After I planted the trees, I decided to plant some flowering bushes, roses, clematis, etc. So far I have killed my Henryi clematis and my Pink Fantasy is also starting to get some brown leaves on it. Henryi seemed fine a couple of days ago and then all of the sudden some of the leaves turned brown and a day later the whole vine looked dead. I need some serious help. My Dad mowed over my oso easy peachy cream rose plant and another flower plant, so now I have lost 3 plants. These questions I know are going to sound really stupid, but I need to ask them. Here are my questions...please help. My clematis plants (purchased at Brushwood Nursery online) were planted near a chain link fence. I planted them approximately 1 foot away from the fence digging 18" deep and 18" wide. #1 How do you train a clematis to go on a fence? Do I separate stems and tie each one loosely to fence and let them wrap their tendrils to the fence themselves or do I take the tendrils and wrap them around the fence myself? This may tell me why Henryi died. I had small stones around the plants to keep their roots cool, but recently I just read you should add 4" of mulch 8 inches away from clematis and 2 feet all around the plant. Is this for plants that are about 2 years old? Going through the internet on planting clematis, I have read you should add bonemeal, aged cow manure, compost, etc. Where would I get all these things? Would Lowes have these things and if there is something I can buy which has all ingredients I need in one bag, what products are available? I also planted them 2" deeper than it was plante