SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
anniebomm

Happy Brug Story

anniebomm
14 years ago

I'm a gardener by trade. Last year, I offered a Brug seedling to a lovely couple I work for who don't really know plants, but are very appreciative of the work I do for them.

I gave them this little baby Brug as part of a mixed container on their patio, telling them it would bloom at the end of the summer for them if it got big enough.

Well, it grew and grew, getting big and kind of weedy looking in the pot w/ the other ornamentals.

They became a little alarmed, I think. What was this large, coarse-leaved giant? It was kind of, well, UGLY, they thought. The summer got later, and still, the thing grew, but no flowers!

I think they were beginning to lose faith that I even knew what I was talking about!

Last September, I finally got an email from them with the pictures! Their Brug had bloomed, and they were so impressed with the flowers and scent! (Here's where I wish I knew how to add pictures to my posts. Is there a way to add jpg images?)

She managed to keep a tiny piece of this plant alive over the winter--the main plant died, but her little 'baby' lived in a glass of water where she rooted it and potted it up on her own. It was truly a sad little thing, but after advising them to repot, feed and give it more sun, their baby has taken off again. It's about two feet tall, and looks really healthy. Though it probably won't bloom in time before they bring it in for winter this year, they just love this plant now!

What fun it was to share this with them and get them hooked!

Comments (14)

• threas
    14 years ago

That's a wonderful story!
    If you want to email me the pic, I could post it for you or you could try it yourself!LOL