SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
frozenmyst

Betta Fish Question

FrozenMyst
18 years ago

Hello Everyone. I'm new here and I've been searching through out the different messages here. I haven't quite found anyone with my specific problem.

My mom recently got me a betta fish because I wanted a friend to keep me company when I head off for college in the fall. She got me a one gallon tank for the little fella because we don't know how much room there will be in a dorm. I fear it's a little chilly for him. He hasn't been moving as much as he use to and again, I think this is because of the temp. Would a heater be a bad thing for the little guy? I've read that usually you need a bigger tank for a heater, but I'd like to know if it's possible to put a heater that is recommended for a 2-5 gallon tank in a one gallon. Sorry if I don't sound too bright about the betta, but I'm very new to this. Any help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (25)

• grice
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Mystery.
    I personally don't think a heater in a gallon tank is a good idea. I fear that the water would not be evenly warmed and that would result in trouble for your new friend.
    I have four bettas and each have their own private tank. Two are in five gallon and two are in 2.5 gallon. All have heaters and they are all active and seem happy.