SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
rob_norharco

JD 445 Rider Mower Issues - Need Help Please

rob_norharco
14 years ago

Hi,

I'm a Newbie to this site. But I've read a lot of threads hoping to read about my issues, and was very impressed with the amount of technical knowledge.

I have a 2000 JD 445 with about 500 hrs on it. I bought it to replace a GT235 so I could also plow snow in the winter more efficiently. I mow over an acre and a half and it's really hilly with a lot of obstructions. This mower with a 48" deck is perfect for me and the tasks I use it for.

When I purchased it, it ran fine. A little stinky but I thought it was just showing it's age. I used it all winter to plow and it worked better than I expected. In the spring, I used it of course, to cut grass. Before I could get through the entire season the issues started to pop up.

1) It smokes more now (enough to make ya sick after a couple hours on it).

2) Overall power seems to have decreased.

3) Steering is very sluggish to almost impossible under a full load (my 275 lbs & very steep incline).

4) There is a fluid leak in the rear, on the right side, after running it for a couple of hours, and does not leak after the engine is shut off and the mower is parked.

5) Towards the end of the season I noticed a flashing light on the dash, it's yellow, with the coiled wire symbol (I think that's what it is), that until I came to this site thought was a loose wire connection somewhere.

6) And the piece d' resistance, I rolled it the last time I used it so I need a new hood and dash bezel or entire dash. Don't ask how, lets just say I have very steep hills to cut. And obviously I'm an idiot sometimes.