SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jugglerguy

Better way to make shredded leaf mulch?

jugglerguy
12 years ago

Hi, I've been composting for almost 20 years and have been using chopped leaves as mulch for perennial beds for about 10 years. I have a lot of gardens, so gathering and chopping leaves for mulch is time consuming. First, I collect OPBL and also have trailers full of leaves dropped in my driveway. I spread about five bags of leaves out on the paved driveway and run them over twice with my push mower. Then I haul them in my wheelbarrow to some large compost bins in the woods until spring. In late spring, I spread them on my gardens.

I'm getting really tired of the chopping part of this procedure, so last year I build two very large bins. I filled them with whole leaves and let them sit there all summer. They started out about four feet deep and are now a little less than half the volume they were. My idea has been to let them rot for a whole summer and then to use them next year. Today I stared moving them into a new bin to get the leave on the tops and sides of the bins to rot down more. I've found pockets of leaves that were wet and pretty rotted, but still whole. Other spots were too dry and looked like they did the day I put them in the pile. I'm mixing everything the best I can and rewetting it as I put it in the new pile, but I'm concerned that it's not going to be broken down enough to crumble naturally by next summer.

Has anyone used a method like this to make a leaf mold type mulch? Am I going to be able to avoid the chopping process? I've thought about getting one of those really tiny, high speed tillers to run through the pile to chop them up, but I'd rather not clutter up my garage with another tool or spend the money on one.

Comments (25)

• kittens
    12 years ago