SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
rideauroselad

Austin Reds - Comparatively Speaking

I have been growing roses, Austins and others, for more than two decades now. I have always had a passion for the very full, quartered old fashioned reds, the darker the better. It is an enigma to me why I love the dark red old fashioned blooms so much, because other bloom types of red rose, explorers, HTs, Floribundas, etc. spark no interest on my part.

In my earlier rose growing years I tried a number of the red HPs, Empereur du Maroc, Souvenir du Docteur Jamain and a few others. Likely because I was relatively new to rose growing, the plants of those varieties did not do well for me and I was too impatient with them when they would not perform to my unrealistic expectations. I will try more HPs if I ever again have a garden in a warm climate. In fact, if I could find an authentic version of Souvenir d'Alphonse Lavallée, I'd scoop it up now.

So I started trying the red Austin roses. I have trialed most of them over the years, shovel pruned some for various reasons, or did not replace others when I moved across the continent 11 years ago. Since then, I have tried many more.

This spring, I am growing two of the newest ones, Munstead Wood and Darcey Bussell. They have both begun to bloom and I am quite impressed with both for habit, vigour and bloom power. Especially for such young plants, albeit grafted, They have now both joined my short list of red keepers for my cold climate garden.

I think now that I likely have my primary list of red old fashioned roses for this garden and climate. My list includes the following:

The Squire 1977; Wenlock, 1984; William Shakespeare, 1987; Darcey Bussell, 2005; and Munstead Wood, 2007; and the Barden introduction Siren's Keep, 2003.

Here are a few images for comparison, but as always seems to be the case with my red rose images, the colours are not quite true to life.

{{gwi:277653}}