SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
cearbhaill

Tree growing too quickly?

I have a spot in my yard where anything planted grows abnormally quickly.

Background:

When we moved into this home in 5/07 there was an enormous hemlock tree in the spot which for various reasons we had removed and the stump ground out. Later that year we planted a hydrangea in the general area and it grew huge and lanky very quickly. OK- I am new to gardening in this climate so maybe I just used the wrong plant.

The next spring ('08) we planted a Cotinus coggygria 'Royal Purple', Purple Smoke tree that I got for $1.99 on the Lowe's "neglected and nearly dead" rack in a one gallon pot- it can't have been eight inches tall. In the next year it grew to over ten FEET and was so top heavy with under-developed roots that it fell over numerous times. We kept propping it back up, staking- anything to get it upright.

By spring of '10 I had it with the falling over smoke tree and removed it. We took the opportunity to dig around and see if there was a buried troll or something causing all the super-growth, but found nothing unusual.

We planted a Cercis canadensis 'Forest Pansy' as pictured below-

{{gwi:358262}}

The tree wasn't even as large as it appears because what looks like a thick trunk there is really an old rusted out farm fence stake.

You guessed it- it is growing way too fast IMO.

As the Forest Pansy was considerably more expensive (and more beautiful) than anything I have had over there previously, I want this tree to work.

It just seems so top heavy.

Same tree two years later-

{{gwi:358263}}

{{gwi:358265}}

I untied it from the stake a year ago (can't easily get the stake out) so it can move and develop strength, but I am scared that a branch is going to break or the whole thing topple over when a wrong wind goes by.

I have not pruned it because I am wary about regrowth coming back tenfold and further weighing it down.