SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
larinoriani

Hello with a problem (or two...) Murray riding mower

larinoriani
13 years ago

Hi, new here. Hope someone can help me with the following issues. (please keep in mind that I'm no mechanic but handy with tools and good at following directions)

Long story short, I was given this Murray [309304X8E (2002), powered by a Briggs 11hp (28V707 1116-E1)]riding mower this past Saturday; it had been sitting for the past three years and needed a new home.

I went ahead and put a new spark plug, air and fuel filter, oil change, new battery and new fuel hoses; it started at third attempt

Issue #1: Ran for a couple of minutes and started flooding by the intake side of the carb, I took it off and cleaned it really good, put it back on. Started right up and ran perfect, kept it running for about five minutes, then took it for a ride around the yard making sure everything works.

After about ten minutes, it died. Inspected the carb and still floods. It is safe to think that the seat and needle have to be replace?

Issue #2

At the same time it died, something weird happened, just when the engine died I heard this loud continuous noise coming from the right side of the engine (carb is on the left), from what appear to be the starter, my instinct told me "disconnect the battery" did it and the noise stopped.

After a little while, tried to re connect the battery but the starter will kick in immediately, (even with the key in the OFF position!) what could be causing this? Could the switch just decided to go bananas at the same time the engine died?

Thanks for any pointer/advice!

Juan.

Comments (16)

• mownie
    13 years ago

Yes, safe to say needle and seat (or at least...the needle) should be replaced.

"Handy with tools and follow instructions"