SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
steve_underhill

Insulating a foundation and orientation

Steve.Underhill
11 years ago

I am new to this blog but have been lurking for a while and I love it. From reviewing other posts this is the information you need to answer my questions if you want to do so (and I would really appreciate it). I plan on building a greenhouse this spring, I am in Northern MI, Zone 4, frost line 42", want to use ONLY passive Solar if possible, the only exception I can see is heating mats and grow lights for seedlings in the spring. I have been researching online and interviewing many people and getting conflicting advice. This will be a 8 x 12 Easy Grow STC twinwall greenhouse. I plan on having one long wall face south, will add insulation to the north and parts of the east and west walls in addition to the north ceiling. I also plan on using water mass thermal storage along the north wall, then raised bed along the south wall and use the shelves on the north and south side for seedling and/or plants. HOW I PLAN TO USE THE GREENHOUSE: Goal 1- this year I grew greens all winter in low hoop houses so I know I can do it (but I got tired of getting on my knees, brushing off a ton of snow to get to my salad) so at a minimum I want to grow greens all winter where I can stand up to get to my greens - so as a minimum I will move my cold frames into the greenhouse. Goal 2 is to start seeds in the greenhouse in the spring, my wife does not like grow lights and such taking up space in our house. Goal 3 is to see what else I can grow all winter WITHOUT heating the greenhouse so passive solar is very important to me, if I can not accomplish goal three then I will only use the greenhouse in winter for my cold frames. Two main areas for questions.