SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lizzyw2001

New to roses and need advice

Lizzyw2001
12 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm new to rose gardening and I wanted to see if I could pick your brains. My husband and I bought our first house and decided to add a rose garden. We planted a total of 20 rose bushes throughout the yard. They are all HT's. Lots of sun and the soil where we live is pretty sandy and drains well. I was told and we did, to put in a drip system and to give the roses a "deep" watering once a week. Is that appropriate to do? I don't want to rot the roots. Also, am I really supposed to give them rose food every month from spring-summer?

Thank you for any advice you can give!

Liz

Comments (20)

• kittymoonbeam
    12 years ago

A good mulch makes all the difference. When I started putting on mulch, I saved water, kept the weeds down and the rose roots cool in summer. This was the best rose advice I ever got.

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    12 years ago

Sounds like you have a good start on your new house and garden. Would you care to share the general region you live in? Sometimes that can affect the kind of advice we might give. The state would be helpful info., for instance.

You are right--roses like to be watered but not over-watered. You might check periodically to see how wet the soil is at different times in your watering cycle. Ideally, the soil would be moist but not soggy. The soil should still have some crumbling possibilities. Carefully dig down 6 inches in the soil and see how it is there. Then you will have some basis for deciding if it is too wet or too dry.