SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
flowerpottipper

Going to orchid show for 1st time-questions?

flowerpottipper
11 years ago

Hello everyone,

I just bought my first orchid the other day, not sure what kind it is LOL (thank you tag for not telling me LOL), then the next day my best friend was at Walgreens and was there just as they where putting out some moth orchids and got me and herself one, she knows I love ALL indoor plants. Well I saw a sign for an orchid show and sale for this weekend, and I really want to go...do you think that this might be a good experience for me to learn a little bit more about orchids?? I know they're doing a thing on showing you how to repot your orchids, and that's what I wanted to see....and will I be allowed to take any pictures of the orchids?? This is my first plant show of any kind that I'm going to, and I would also love to buy an orchid. I was wondering if slipper orchids are okay for beginners. I'm not a beginner with houseplants and succulents, all of those are thriving and doing wonderful for me(I have around 150-200 houseplants and succulents) so I'm not a plant killer, I love learning and doing research on new plants (I have quite a collection of plant books)...and I've always loved the slippers, they're so beautiful, but I don't wanna kill one.

Anyways, my question is: can someone with experience in other plants, even tough plants like some of my succulents, maybe do slippers?? And are pictures allowed at shows? and is there anything you would recommend I check out or do at the show to get the most out of it?? It's just I figured that if I wanted to get my hands on an orchid that is healthy and well grown and not some half-dead one from wal-mart or the grocery store, this is probably a good time to get one.

Thank you

-FlowerPotTipper

Comments (18)

• bob8_gw
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago