SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
curlyone_gw

Beginner - advice needed

curlyone
14 years ago

Hello!

I am new to orchids and need an advice...

I have a problem with my phal-mini... New buds just dry up...but only the tiny new ones, the ones that were bigger when I got it did open up, however the flowers are smaller then the original flowers orchid had when I got it.

I am not sure why this is happening...

Is the care about the same for the minis as for regular phals?

My orchid is planted in a tall glass vase with moss on top and some wood bark and moss on the bottom. No drainage.

I was told by the florist to just mist the moss and leaves when moss feels dry, but not to water a lot because if the root gets wet that would kill it. Another person that has a few phals of her own, told me they did not like much water and to only water once weekly... however my moss feels dry almost every day (I don't mist every day) and it is almost impossible to mist the moss and not let any water sneak down the vase to the bottom... And if I try watering the water is sure to drip down from the sides of the vase... There is always kind of mist in the vase between the tree bark and top of the vase where orchid is planted....

This is my first orchid and I love it... and want very much to keep it happy and healthy...

Any care tips would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thank you so much in advance!

Comments (23)

• arthurm
    14 years ago

Probably not the best way to grow a Phal....lots of complete culture notes to be found on the net.

But, you could try reading past posts on vase culture on this site, they relate mostly to Vandas but you might get some handy hints there.

To find those posts, go to the the top of the discussions page and put Vase Culture in the search box.

• curlyone
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you, I will try that...
    I wasn't sure if the care for minis is the same as for regulars....

• Related Discussions