SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
foogi

Electric Lawn Mower - Need Help!

17 years ago

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the site and I was hoping that you guys would be able to give me a little feedback. I'm an engineering student at Duke, and for our senior design project, we're working on an electric/solar-powered lawn mower. I was browsing some of the posts, and everyone seems very knowledgeable when it comes to lawnmowers and some of their pros and cons.

Anyway, I was hoping that some of you would be willing to take a short survey for us. I'll post the questions below, but if there's anything that you think would be interesting for us to try engineering, feel free to post that as well. Thanks in advance for all your help!

Survey below:

______

1) Do you think that rising gas prices and declining oil supplies will have a serious effect on the economy and on channeling alternative energy research and development in the next 10 years?

a) No effect at all

b) Slight effect only

c) Moderate effect

d) Major effect

2) How many times, on average, do you normally mow your lawn during the peak season?

a) Once every two weeks

b) Once every ten days

c) Once every week

d) More than once a week

3) How long does it normally take you to mow your entire lawn?

a) Less than one hour

b) Between one and two hours

c) Between two and three hours

d) Between three and four hours

e) More than four hours

4) What do you consider the worst part of operating a standard push-lawnmower?

a) The noise

b) Dealing with the grass clippings and flying debris

c) Paying for gasoline

d) General maintenance

e) Air pollution

5) As an observer, what concerns you the most about someone else using a standard push-lawnmower, assuming that the operator will be completely safe?

a) My concerns about what the blade would do to someone else

b) The hazard of flying debris

c) The noise of the lawnmower

d) The environmental impact of the lawnmower