SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
glenn_russell_gw

Best peach for me in RI?

glenn_russell
14 years ago

Hi guys-

Now that Ive been growing apples for 3-4 years now, along with all the other fruit that I grow, I think IÂm ready to give peaches a try. Although IÂve been following this forum for a couple years, I actually know very little about them. I do have a 2.5Â tall healthy Dwarf Empress Peach bush, (with quarter sized peaches on it), but IÂm not sure if that really counts. IÂm probably only going to plant 1 tree (though I never intended to have the 11 apples trees that I have now!), and I believe I have a good spot picked out for it. It probably wonÂt go in the ground until next spring (9 months away), but I want to start researching the recommended varieties now. I always make my best planting decisions when I have a good long time to think about them.

My criteria (I think):

1.) Low maintenance  IÂm not sure I want to put in as much time into studying peaches as I have on the apples especially for just one tree. With apples, IÂm especially interested in Disease Resistant varieties though only about half of mine are traditional DR varieties. Ideally, IÂd still like the tree to be able to survive without being sprayed (Though I know I wouldnÂt get any usable fruit) It would be nice if I could re-use my current sprays (Immunox/Copper/Ferbam/Dormant oil) so I wouldnÂt have to learn any new ones!

2.) Later bloom - IÂd prefer to find something which would bloom later so I wouldnÂt have to worry about a late frost. IÂd really like to avoid the disappointment of a total crop loss due to frost which happened last year to my local U-Pick.

3.) Early ripening  I really attempt to spread out my harvest for as long as possible. Since I have lots of apples (picked to equispace my harvest for as long as possible from Williams Pride to Granny Smith), IÂm thinking I would like an early ripening peach but perhaps this is slightly in conflict with #2.