SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
canuckistani

What weed is this?

canuckistani
14 years ago

I'm still pretty new to this and thought it might be useful for me and other newbs to have a weed identification thread. Would appreciate if the oldtimers can identify the following:

99% certain the first pic is common purslane and the second is lamb's quarters, anyone want to verify?

{{gwi:105007}}

{{gwi:105008}}

Is this pigweed? Similar to lamb's quarters? I sometimes see people clump the two together..

{{gwi:105009}}

Plantain?

{{gwi:105010}}

Mullein?

{{gwi:105011}}

?

{{gwi:105012}}

?

{{gwi:105013}}

Comments (25)

• bruce2288
    14 years ago

You got the first 4 right i think. The last may be ragweed. Where are you it looks like home.

• canuckistani
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I'm just north of Toronto.

Is pigweed the same thing as lamb's quarter??

Any suggestions from people on how best to deal with crabgrass?

• DrHorticulture_
    14 years ago

Pigweed and LQ are not the same but they are related. Both are in the Amaranthaceae. Both are edible.

• euarto_gullible
    14 years ago

The first 5 are correct. 6 is common groundsel, and 7 is common ragweed.

• greenbean08_gw
    14 years ago

Looks like my backyard! :-)
    Thanks for the ID, I didn't know that was lamb's quarters (I just know I've pulled lots of it...)

Here is a link that might be useful: Tales of a Transplanted Gardener

• laceyvail 6A, WV
    14 years ago

BTW, purslane is one of the healthiest plants in your garden, very high in Omega 3 fatty acids. I add it to salads all summer long. You eat the leaves and stems.

• makete
    14 years ago

Holy cow that looks like here in the U.P. to me. Always wondered what that first plant was as we have a ton and a half here growing in the garden. Looks like a succlent type plant to me, and viny. You say people eat this plant? Holy cow, wonders never cease.

• jekyll
    14 years ago