SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
tom4a

sweet cherry tree options

tom4a
17 years ago

hi, im quite new to this but am looking to try a sweet cherry or two in my back yard ive done a lot of resurch but have a lot of questions, i know that sweet cherrys are quite a gamble in my aria,zone 4 just west of mpls mn,but am willing to take a chance im leaning on a lapins but would like to know any rootstock advise and reputable supplyers any and all input would be greatly appreciated, thanks tom

Comments (28)

• Embothrium
    17 years ago

Maybe your state Extension has recommendations.

• Scott F Smith
    17 years ago

Tom I don't think they are hardy in your area. I would consult the people at Fedco Nursery in Maine, they are also in Z4 and so will give you good advice. The pie cherries will do well so maybe you want a pie cherry and a bag of sugar instead.

Scott

• Related Discussions

Need Advice On A Sweet Cherry Tree

Q

Comments (1)
    If you like black gold, try white gold! Not a red, but different!
    ...See More

will sweet cherry trees pollinate nanking cherry

Q

Comments (2)
    I am in Zone 5 and my nanking cherry blooms before the other sweet cherries and I see no overlape for pollination. Anyway you have a good combo on your cherry tree.
    ...See More

Pin Cherry as rootstock in multigraft sweet cherry + pin cherry t

Q

Comments (2)