SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
neohippie

Got my soil test results!

neohippie
13 years ago

I'm putting this here instead of the soil forum because I'm growing veggies. This is my second year growing this garden here. I rent this house and previously the backyard was a big neglected patch of Bermudagrass and weeds. I asked the landlord's permission to grow a garden, and then ended up digging up the entire area that was sunny enough.

You know you're a garden nerd when you get all excited about soil test results! I highly recommend any gardener doing this. Since I'm in Texas I got mine done through Texas A&M (http://soiltesting.tamu.edu/), and since I've never done this before, I got the full test where they test everything they can, and it cost only $25. The cheapest test they do where I think they only test NPK is something like $10. (Of course I spent another $5 on shipping since a pint of soil is heavy, but still, not too expensive.) The results sheet I got back is very clear and easy to read and understand, showing how much of each nutrient I have in ppm, and how much I should have (the "critical level"). For the ones I'm low in, it even gives me an amount of fertilizer I should add in in lbs/1,000 sq ft, though that takes a little calculating to translate to how much of any given fertilizer to add (which they tell you how to do on their website).

Ok, I will NEVER allow ANYONE to diss my soil again! My soil is AWESOME! I'm actually pretty surprised at how good these numbers are. In fact, yesterday at Lowe's I actually had a guy that worked there talking to me about how much the soil here sucks, and recommending to me various products I should apply to it. Good thing I waited on buying anything until I got my results in.

My soil is Texas Hill Country clay with lots and LOTS of chunks of limestone. I was afraid my pH would be way high with all this limestone, but it was only "slightly alkaline" at 7.6.