SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
organictexasmama

Am I doing this right?

OrganicTexasMama
13 years ago

Hi! I'm just starting out with an organic vegetable/fruit container garden and am terrified I'm going to do something wrong and ruin it all. :/ I wish I had someone here to walk me through, step by step, but I'm hoping I can at least get some advice as I go along. :)

I have been consulting "Bountiful Container" and "Grow Great Grub" as my primary resources. I've also consulted with a couple of folks at a local organic gardening center. I confess to being rather overwhelmed with the amount of new information, to the point that it has, at times, been difficult to process it and make sense of any of it. I'm trying to take baby steps and learn things as needed, but I know if I go too fast I'll end up frazzled.

So, here's where I'm at:

I purchased organic starts from Sarah's Starts in Oregon, which were trucked in and arrived last Tuesday. I got:

- Diva cucumber (6pk)

- Zucchini (6pk)

- Sweet crimson watermelon (6pk)

- Big Beef tomato (x1)

- Strawberries (x4)

- Thyme (x1)

- Hummingbird/honeybee variety - lavender (x2), and two others I can't remember

- variety of lettuces (these were included, free, so I'm not entirely sure what they are)

- I had ordered additional herbs that were out of stock, so we'll get those another time. There's also a verbena plant my son picked at the garden store because he liked the flowers. :)

I have planted thusly:

- 4 strawberry plants in an approximately 18x12" terracotta pot

- 1 Big Beef tomato with pre-fab trellis (4') and six lettuces surrounding, in 20"x12" wooden barrel tub

- hummingbird/honeybee plants in 17"x8" wooden barrel tub

- thyme in 6" aluminum pot with holes punched for drainage

- verbena in 6" aluminum pot with holes punched for drainage