SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
anchuz

First time planting spring bulbs

anchita
17 years ago

Hello,

This is my first year planting bulbs (gardening, really) and as you can imagine, I have a whole lot of newbie questions about them. So I apologize for the long post. But any comments and suggestions will be deeply appreciated!

I'm near Dallas, zone 8a, and I will be planting most of my bulbs in 12-16" containers as I have very limited ground space (live in an apartment.)

Here's what I have so far, maybe 5-10 of each variety: Allium (moly, neapolitanum, oreophilum), Daffodils (Erlicheer, Flower Drift, Fortune, Geranium, Ice Follies, Jonquil, Suzy, Tete a tete, Thalia), Muscari (alba and latifolium), Crocus (mixed), Hyacinth (Blue jacket, Carnegie, Jan Bos), Hispanic Hyacinth (pink, blue and white), Dutch Iris (Purple Sensation)

I am planning to plant the Daffodils, Hyacinths, Muscari and Allium within a couple of days, and I've been told to chill the Crocus, Hyacinths and Dutch Iris till at least Thanksgivig and then plant them.

I'm wondering whether planting these bulbs in containers is going to be okay for my zone. I can wrap burlap around these pots on freezing nights, but I intend to leave them outside. How often should I water these; usually I go by when soil feels dry an inch or two down, is this method okay for them? Also, I want to plant some pansies on the surface; will it interfere with the growth of the bulbs in spring? I was asked to mix bloodmeal/bulb food with the soil (to put it in each hole that I dig for a bulb) and I'm worried about the critters nosing around in the pots. Is there a way to lessen/prevent that?

Thanks so much for having this forum, and for any suggestions you might have!

Anchita

Comments (8)

• lilium_guy56
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Welcome to the world of bulbs. First of all your plan is mistaken in a few ways.