SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kathleen_smith6227819

SiruusXM users?

Kathsgrdn
11 months ago

I just got a notice in the mail from them that I have an automatic 3 month subscription for free and can extend it another 3 months for $2.11. The first 3 months ends just before a long driving trip I've planned in the Fall so am considering getting it extended. We'll be driving about half the time in remote/mountainous areas so not sure it will work? I know it's satelite radio but I don't know if it works well in those type of areas.

My daughter did add me to her Spotify and was going to start making a playlist soon and downloading it to my phone, but thought it may be nice to have something else for the trip.

Wondering if anyone here has this service and how you like it? I don't drive much anymore, day-to-day since retiring, so will probably be just a six month thing for me.

Comments (24)

• nicole___
    11 months ago

Yes, Sirius XM should work in remote areas. In the mountains it will fade out when you dip behind a hill or two. After your 6 month deal is up...they're offering $6 a month deals. Be sure to ask for it.

Kathsgrdn thanked nicole___
  • Ally De
    11 months ago

I like mine, but their service model is very scammy.

I often do 5 hour trips in my car, and like their variety of offerings. The sound is good, I rarely lose them (although I do think just how mountainous it is matters). I often stream music through different sources too, but I'm currently paying $6.06/month (as noted by Nicole), and it's worth $6 a month to me.

Their service model is super scammy. You need to watch when your renewals are due, and you need to call before then to see what "special promotions" they'll offer to keep you. Otherwise they will renew you at much higher rates, the cost of which is usually buried in the fine print in your renewal agreement. I don't have mine in front of me, but I think they quoted me $27/month upon renewal. They are not worth that.