SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kitkatcal

Swapping kitchen and dining room: flooring transitions and materials?

Kat T
last year

Hi - this is my first time posting, though I've read about 50k discussions here. Really appreciate all the helpful advice and expertise!

My question: My husband and I are remodeling the kitchen/dining room of our 1920's home. It's close to the beach, but we're leaning more into the *hopefully* timeless look of the era rather than the fact that it's technically a ~beach house~. That said, goal is to keep it light and natural.)

After much deliberation about layout (there were too many doors/windows in the current kitchen, and we didn't want to lose the light by closing any up) we're essentially swapping the location of the current kitchen with the dining room and adding a coffee bar (in the style of the kitchen) to what will soon be the dining room. (Attaching images that will hopefully clarify the major/functional changes:

Lower level floor plan:

Kitchen/dining area (most recent printout from Home Depot, but slightly out of date):

Current look:

Our cabinets are ordered (https://www.kraftmaid.com/browse-cabinets-products/cabinets/color/rainfall) as well as the wood floors (https://www.llflooring.com/p/builder-fts-pride-3-4-in.-walnut-hickory-solid-hardwood-flooring-3.25-in.-wide-10029561.html).

We'll likely go with a Silestone dark grey/blackish countertop but haven't pulled the trigger as we want to decide in tandem w/ tile.

What we're trying to determine now is what flooring to use in the kitchen/dining area and how/where to transition it.